Skip navigation

Dead Little Penny

Guitar-slinging vocalist and songwriter Hayley Smith, drummer/synth player Simon Buxton and guitarist/bassist Sean Martin-Buss create a soundscape of noisy textures, fizzing guitars and ambient synth, paired with catchy fuzz-pop melodies.

Their latest singles Honeycomb and U 4 Me have gained traction on alt-radio here and internationally.

Gifted a guitar for her 13th birthday, frontwoman Hayley began creating pop-punk and wall-of-sound music in her bedroom.

Playing at beer-fuelled house parties in central Auckland, Hayley became a regular gig-goer, drawn to favourites The Mint Chicks and Die! Die! Die!

Their album Urge Surfing is due for release late 2018.

Watch their video

Appearing at